Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies by Jools



I’m a health freak so when it comes to treats I want them decadent but not stuck on my hips for the next 3 weeks. Read this on why I stopped eating sugar cane  
This brownie is an adaptation of a few recipes I found and that were sent to me.
I only made half and will be freezing the rest. I like eating them when they are half frozen. They have that ice cream feeling about them.


24 servings at 277 calories per serving! Not bad, uh? 

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, plus extra for greasing the dish.
  • 8 ounces bitter-sweet chocolate . I use 85% dark chocolate
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups agave nectar or 3 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups (6.38 ounces) flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 3/4 cup organic crunchy peanut butter. (no sugar added)


  1. Heat the oven to 350 F/ 175C. Grease a 9-by-13-inch glass baking dish.
  2. In a medium, heavy-bottom saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate over low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl using an electric mixer, beat together the eggs, agave nectar or sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy, 5 to 7 minutes. 
  4. Fold in the melted chocolate, then the salt and sifted flour & cocoa just until combined.
  5. In a small ball beat the peanut butter until soft. 
  6. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Put dollops of peanut butter & using the tip of a sharp knife swirl into the mixture.
  7. Bake in the center of the oven until puffed and almost set, about 35/40 mins. A toothpick inserted will be slightly moist. Remove and cool slightly before serving.
Now will they make it to the freezer? 



Leave a comment